New Leadership for the Republican Party of PR


The Republican Party of Puerto held their assembly on Sunday, November 1, 2015 to elect its leaders.  Chairman of the party since 2007, Mayor Carlos Mendez finished his term this year.  Republican National Committee Chairman Reince Priebus and Co-Chairman Sharon Day sent written letters commending Mayor Mendez on his commitment to advancing Statehood for Puerto Rico and his application of core conservative values.  Succeeding Mayor Mendez, House Minority Leader, Jenniffer Gonzalez Colon was elected to be the new Party President.  Former Governor Luis Fortuno was elected National Committeeman and attorney Zoraida Fonalledas was chosen as National Committeewoman.  Abel Nazario, Mayor of Yauco was selected as First Vice President and attorney Jorge San Miguel will be Second Vice President.  Read the Miami Herald coverage of the elections here which reported that Presidential candidates, Marco Rubio and George Pataki sent statements regarding their support for Statehood for Puerto Rico and Jeb Bush, Jr. attended and spoke at the assembly on behalf of his father.  The Republican Party of Puerto Rico calls on GOP candidates to support statehood for Puerto Rico.